breaking news


today is Jan 30, 2023

Sauber junior driver Theo Pourchaire will remain at ART for a third consecutive season in Formula 2 in 2023, the team has confirmed.

The 19-year-old has raced in the last two seasons of the series with the French team, taking fifth place in the drivers’ standings in 2021 and taking the runner-up spot behind champion Felipe Drugovich last year.

Pourchaire, who is the first driver to be confirmed by ART for the upcoming season, said he “couldn’t be happier to extend my career in this top-level Formula 2 championship with ART Grand Prix, which has become a family to me.”

“We have had intense moments over the past three years and it’s important to prepare for the 2023 championship with a team that knows me and knows how to put me in the best possible situations. We may have lacked success last year, but we gained experience that makes us even stronger. I will do everything I can to bring the title to ART Grand Prix this season.”

Pourchaire has raced for ART since joining the team for his single season in FIA Formula 3 in 2020, taking the runner-up spot in the championship behind Oscar Piastri and graduating into F2 with the team the following year. He became F2’s youngest ever race winner in 2021 with his victory in the Monaco feature race and has topped the podium on four further occasions since.

He finished a distant runner-up to champion Felipe Drugovich last season. ART team manager Sebastian Phillippe said the team is aiming to win the championship with Pourchaire this year.

Advert | Become a RaceFans supporter and

“Theo will still be one of the youngest drivers on the grid, but he has acquired a technical and personal maturity which, combined with his speed and his combativeness, will be a major asset to be consistently at the front of the field and will help the team in its technical focus,” said Phillippe.

“Last season showed us how much every detail counts and after two seasons in Formula 2 with Theo, ART Grand Prix’s mission will be to master everything in our power to optimise our chances of winning the title in 2023.”

2023 Formula 2 driver line-up

Team Drivers MP Dennis Hauger TBC Carlin Enzo Fittipaldi Zane Maloney ART Theo Pourchaire TBC Prema Frederik Vesti Oliver Bearman Hitech Jak Crawford Isack Hadjar DAMS Ayumu Iwasa Arthur Leclerc Virtuosi Jack Doohan Amaury Cordeel PHM by Charouz Roy Nissany Brad Benavides Trident Clement Novalak Roman Stanek Van Amersfoort Richard Verschoor Juan Manuel Correa Campos Ralph Boschung Kush Maini

Advert | Become a RaceFans supporter and

Formula 2

  • Six Formula 2 drivers among Red Bull’s 12-strong junior squad for 2023
  • Trident promote their F3 winner Stanek to 2023 F2 seat
  • Twelve of the best ‘true’ single-seater passes of 2022
  • Helmet rows, hot mics and more forgotten motorsport stories from 2022
  • From F1 to Formula Ford, 2022 was the year of the championship anti-climax

Browse all Formula 2 articles