breaking news


today is Dec 07, 2022

Dennis Hauger inherited the win of the Baku Formula 2 feature race after leader Juri Vips threw away victory in the castle section with just minutes remaining.

Vips had taken pole, with fellow Red Bull juniors Liam Lawson and Dennis Hauger in second and third. Marcus Armstrong, who started fourth, got an incredible start and almost immediately was in a position to threaten the leaders.

The Safety Car was deployed on lap one after Amaury Cordeel and Olli Caldwell collided at turn three, putting both drivers out of the race. Sprint race winner Frederick Vesti failed to get away on the grid and was wheeled back to the pit lane to start.

Marcus Armstrong challenged Lawson for second on the restart on lap five but Lawson held on, letting Vips get away cleanly with the lead.

Lawson pitted on lap nine, the first of the lead pack to stop and Clement Novalak’s MP Motorsport car was retired on lap 11 following a mechanical issue.

A second Safety Car was called on lap 12 after Roy Nissany and Cem Bolukbasi collided into turn two, both into the Tecpro nose-first at turn two.

The Safety Car came in at the end of lap 14 and then racing was nearly immediately neutralised yet again after a messy restart that saw cars weaving around the pit straight and shedding bodywork. Armstrong made a colossal misjudgement on the restart, allowing three cars past him into turn one and being forced to take a pit stop.

On lap 17 racing restarted, but Calan Williams, in the overall lead but not having pitted, went straight on into turn one and handed the lead back to its rightful owner of Vips. By this stage, the multiple Safety Cars had meant the race would now be a time limited one, rather than run to its originally scheduled distance.

Despite looking comfortable out in front, a costly error from Vips with seven minutes remaining into the castle section saw him clip the outside wall, destroying his car and putting him out on the spot. The accident prompted another Safety Car, while Hauger inherited the lead. The race would not restart, with Hauger cruising home to his second F2 win of the season. Logan Sargeant finished second, while Felipe Drugovich extended his championship lead with third.

Drugovich now leads the standings on 132 to Théo Pourchaire’s 83, after a disastrous weekend for the ART driver where poor qualifying saw him out of any chance of points.

Advert | Become a RaceFans supporter and

Formula 2 Azerbaijan race two results

Position Car Driver 1 1 Dennis Hauger 2 6 Logan Sargeant 3 11 Felipe Drugovich 4 2 Jehan Daruvala 5 20 Richard Verschoor 6 22 Enzo Fittipaldi 7 9 Frederik Vesti 8 4 Marino Sato 9 15 Ralph Boschung 10 24 Jake Hughes 11 10 Theo Pourchaire 12 7 Marcus Armstrong 13 3 Jack Doohan 14 17 Ayumu Iwasa 15 5 Liam Lawson 16 21 Calan Williams DNF 8 Juri Vips DNF 16 Roy Nissany DNF 23 Cem Bolukbasi DNF 12 Clement Novalak DNF 25 Amaury Cordeel DNF 14 Olli Caldwell

Advert | Become a RaceFans supporter and

Formula 2

  • Cordeel banned from Silverstone F2 round after reaching 12 penalty points
  • Vesti takes maiden Formula 2 win after Safety Car spree in Baku
  • Vips takes Formula 2 Baku pole as Iwasa crashes
  • Drugovich holds off Pourchaire for Formula 2 feature race win in Monaco
  • Hauger dominates Monaco sprint race for first Formula 2 win

Browse all Formula 2 articles